top of page

Luna’s Light

It’s dark outside and inside too

So dark in fact, that I can’t see You

I know You’re here because my papa told me

We read about You in a story


You are the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit

Three-in-one seems strange, but we should not fear it


Right now black is all I see

I can’t see you, can you see me?

My mama said you’re here, but where?

It’s dark and my feet are bare


I pray and pray and pray some more

Is that you knocking at the door?

Can you hear me? I’m talking to you

It’s dark and my left side won’t move


It’s still dark in here, what should I do?

I’m starting to lose hope in You

All I want to do is flee

It’s dark and I’m so lonely


Father, Son, are you there?

It’s getting darker and I’m scared


Holy Spirit, is that you?

Are you with me in this room?


Somehow, the blackness is getting darker

I hear my family cry harder and harder

It feels like an eternity

This darkness has surrounded me


I try to open my eyes one more time

I pray to God to bring me light

When I finally open them…

I see a man with open hands


Luna, Luna, you’re alright

In the darkness and the light

I am right here next to you

Even in the darkest room


What you failed to notice, dear

Through the darkness I was there

Your eyes were open but you could not see

The light you were searching for IS Me


Close your eyes one more time

Listen closely to this rhyme:


Tell me, have you ever watched the sunrise?

It happens right before your eyes

Always darkest before the dawn

Then suddenly the dark is gone


The same is true right now, you see

It’s dark, but only momentarily

Soon you will wake up and realize

I am working right before your eyes


Do you hear your mama singing?

Through her voice, hope, I am bringing

Do you hear your papa strumming?

His guitar in sync with your heart beat drumming


Do you feel that peace inside?

Prayers are being sent worldwide

My spirit moves through all those praying

So remember me when music is playing


It’s time to open up your eyes once more

Walk, or crawl, until you find a door

Remember that the dark is simply fear

But fear not, for I am here


The stories your parents told are true

I am ALWAYS here with you

The path before you is bumpy and long

I will test you, so remember to be strong


I will work more miracles in and through your life

Through you, people will see my light

This was my plan all along

You are weak, but I am strong


Your story will show those who don’t believe

The power that prayer can bring

Through faith and hope and love and grace

One day, many years from now, you will see my face

168 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Even Still

I look into your brown eyes and I know you’re lying, yet I can’t help but to cling to every word you speak...

2D 2609 | Private

Turning in my key is a reminder that this stage in my son’s life is almost over. I’m both excited and trying to slow it down...

One Too Many

Whether it's groceries or relationships, we have all been made to feel like less than enough.

bottom of page